I didn’t catch this virus

51ugifn7pglVirals, by Kathy Reich (2010)

Opening line: “A gunshot is the loudest sound in the universe.”

As is frequently the case, this is not a book I would have picked up to read, but the audiobook gods provided it. so voila. We have it in my library, so I figured, why not? And since then, I’ve been successful at giving it to several happy readers.

It’s an easy sell. You can tell from the first line that this sucker is packed with action. There’s a generation-old murder mystery and a science experiment gone wrong and a team of creepy dudes following and shooting at our main characters,  AND an adorable puppy. Plus, it’s a spin-off of the author’s adult Temperance Brennan series (the inspiration to FOX’s Bones). Sure hit!

It’s got a similar feel to Maximum Ride, with shortish, sometimes choppy sentences and chapters, and main character Tory reminds me of Max (independent, rough around the edges, part of a science experiment). Unfortunately, I didn’t really like Maximum Ride that much. While it was an entertaining mystery, with some endearing elements, I just didn’t find I cared very much. I’m glad I read it, because it’ll help me with my job, but I don’t feel the need to read the next ones.

1.5 stars

Leave a Reply

