2012 Reading Challenges!

As I am entering into my third year of book-blogging (however few-and-far-between my reviews are), I decided that it was time I jumped on the bandwagon of attempting some reading challenges over the year. For those of you not as seasoned in the book blogosphere as others, annual book challenges are very common and extremely varied. There are scillions of book challenges out there. The basics are that each challenge has some common theme (genre, format, level, location, etc.) and the reader selects a goal for themselves for the year, posting about it and submitting a final list if they met their goal. Some challenges have prizes, but mostly it’s just to get people motivated about reading. As a future librarian, I’m all about that.

So: for 2012 I have selected three challenges to participate in. Who knows if I will meet my goals or not (who knows if I’ll even sign-up correctly or not), but I’m ready and excited to give it a go! YAY READING.

Off The Shelf Challenge 2012

For those of you who know me personally or have ever been to my apartment, you know that I am an active book hoarder. I love books so much, and just like having them all around me. There’s nothing better than having a whole pile of books spread out all over the table and stacked in various mountains  next to said table. Some of my favorite places include the public library’s weekend book shop and the Half Price Bookstore by my grandma’s house. I buy books by the bag-full. And yet, most often, the books I end up reading are ones borrowed from the library. THUS: this book challenge is definitely for me.

The Challenge: To read as many books as I can that I have acquired previous to 2012. Let me tell you, I have a lot to choose from. I decided I’m going to play it safe though, and aim for the second level, Trying, and read at least 15 books.

 

Historical Fiction Challenge 2012

I’ve always had an affinity for historical fiction, a genre that is popularly over-looked. This dates back to the imaginative play of my youth, when, instead of the more typical game of “house”, my sister and I would play “Christy” in our backyard (named after the Catherine Marshall novel set in early 20th century Appalachia). I think I just like imagining a world like mine, but with clear differences. In any case, naturally this challenge appealed to me.

The Challenge: I chose the Struggling the Addiction level, meaning 10 historical fiction books in 2012.

 

2012 Debut Authors Challenge

This one seemed like a good idea, considering my future as a school librarian. I’m a little nervous about it, though, because you have to blog about every book you read for this, and let’s be honest, I’m not the best with the review follow-through. It’s probably the challenge I’m most excited about, though!

The Challenge: Read & review a minimum of twelve young adult or middle grade debut novels between the dates of January 1, 2012 – January 31, 2013.

I’m going to have to fiddle with the blog a bit to see about how to best keep track of these things, so you may see some changes in the coming weeks.

Here’s to an exciting reading year!

One thought on “2012 Reading Challenges!

  1. Pingback: 2012 Challenges Summary: BA’s Off the Shelf Reading Challenge « Bookish Ardour

Leave a Reply

